Sautéed collard greens in cream sauce.

La photo est arrivée!  The first picture of food on Le seitan au vin:

I’m trying, ok?  Look at it like a slice of Algie-life–at least I’m using Seventh Generation, reet?

So, ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups collard greens, julienned
  • 1 medium red onion, julienned
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • olive oil
  • flour
  • nutritional yeast
  • rice milk
  • dried oregano
  • dried thyme
  • lemon juice
  • salt and pepper to taste

I started with the oil and garlic, obvi.  Then, I added some flour and browned it a bit, making sure it didn’t clump.  Then, I added the rice milk, mixing it and letting it reduce a bit.  As this was going on, I threw in the nooch, oregano and thyme and continued to mix.  I threw in the lemon juice to taste.  It was looking pretty good, so I added the red onion and cooked them until slightly softened.  Finally, in went the collards–I sautéed them until they just started to wilt, then turned off the heat.  They were rather good, I must say–the creaminess and the bitterness of the collards contrasted nicely.  The red onions made it a little sweet, which was kind of interesting–I would say I should have used yellow onions, but I think the colors were so nice, I don’t think I could find it my heart to forsake them.

Apart from taste tests, I didn’t actually have this for dinner (I filled up on some disaster-flatbread I made earlier, along with that eh-tapenade just to get ride of it all).  However, AS came up from the seventh floor, had a bit and said she enjoyed it.  She will be having it with chicken tomorrow, so I’ll take it as a compliment to the chef.

Tomorrow (day four of Snowpocalypse!) I am planning a creamy tomato sauce–something that involves cashew cream, capers and those stupid Peruvian olives.  Having learned a lesson from the tapenade, I will not be blending the olives…

~ by algernon on February 10, 2010.

One Response to “Sautéed collard greens in cream sauce.”

  1. looks delicious! how long did this take you to make? if i can make my way out to a grocery store i’m going to try this out! thanks =)

Leave a Reply

 
