Curried tempeh burgers/”burgers” with roasted eggplant

Before I forget: I made curried tempeh burgers tonight.  Of the off-the-cuff things I make with what’s lying around, these are probably my favorites.  I’m sure they’d be great on bread, too.

That lumpy purple liquid is ground flaxseed and rice milk.

Crumbled tempeh into a bowl, added garlic powder, turmeric, coriander, cumin seeds, diced onions, chipotle powder, rice vinegar, soy sauce, black pepper, nutritional yeast, agave, and olive oil.  I made a flaxseed binder (one part flax to three parts rice milk, which I’m sure could also be replaced with any liquid…) and mixed that with the tempeh.  I added bread crumbs, but I imagine they would be good without them.  I left them at 450 F until the tops browned, then turned them to brown on the other side.

Yes, this is the toaster oven I use like a regular oven.  Funny thing–my regular oven makes a weird smell when I turn it on, so I have only used the stovetop.  This took some observation.

So good.

Not the best lighting situation, but they were the perfect texture, dense as anything so I just had one with some sweet kale salad and roasted eggplant slices.  I liked this one.

~ by algernon on March 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
