Seitan Medallions in Mushroom Gravy, Courtesy of Vegan Soul Kitchen

Last week was my birthday, on which I turned the big, big, big 24!  The fact that I am still able to rouse myself from the bed without slipping and shattering my hip (then using my old-person whistle to call out for help) is a wonder to me.

Sadly, however, time seems to have taken its toll on my memory, as I seem to have forgotten that I have a blog beloved by many.  I have been terribly inconsistent over the past few months, for a number of reasons, the first of which is clearly dementia.  Secondly, I announced my resignation from DCPS, so I’ve been scrambling to and fro trying to find someone to hire me.  Thirdly, I have been seeing someone wonderful–A.

I asked A to choose a recipe to make for dinner on my birthday, and he chose the seitan medallions with mushroom gravy from Vegan Soul Kitchen by Bryant Terry (Are you reading?).  Making the seitan from scratch, plus the gravy and the salad you see below, seemed like it would be a pain in the culo, but cooking with a dashing sous-chef has its definite advantages!

Altogether, it took A and I about two hours to complete the meal.  Instead of baking or boiling the seitan, I chose to steam it, which, for me, produces the best texture–firm, but moist.  Terry calls for a home-made mushroom stock, but I used some vegan boullion instead, which worked just fine.  A liked it as well, but thought that it was perhaps a little too salty.  He was definitely wrong–Algernon LeBon-Hsu doesn’t make mistakes.  Take a look here:

Absolutely delicious!  Following the dinner, we went down to Larry’s Lounge on 18th, where my friends and I proceeded to hang out in Larry’s basement.  Feels ok to be 24.

~ by algernon on June 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
